Thank you for your question. When you receive this notification, it means that someone wants to connect with you, it's like a friend request.
You can do the same by going on a member's profile and click on 'add', then the person will receive a notification saying that you want to discuss with you.
Once the person accepts, you are able to send him/her a message.
Thank you for being an active member of the community, if you have any questions feel free to contact me 🙂